Media playback is unsupported on your device

A lot of commentators have been comparing the resignations of seven MPs from the Labour Party on Monday to the formation of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

But why has the latest twist in Westminster’s political layout reminded some of events dating back almost 40 years?

In January 1981, four members of the Labour Party – Bill Rodgers, Shirley Williams, Roy Jenkins and David Owen – made the

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution