Oklahoma native Wes Studi is among the recipients of the 2019 Governors Awards, presented by the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

According to a story in the Los Angeles Times, Studi, along with directors David Lynch and Lina Wertmüller, will receive the honorary Governors Awards at a ceremony Oct. 27. Actress Geena Davis will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the same event.

These awards were once part of the regular Academy Awards but are now presented as part of a special ceremony. They are given to “recognize individuals who have devoted themselves to a lifetime of artistic accomplishment and brought outstanding contributions to our industry, and beyond,” said Academy President John

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution