Goran K Hansson, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, announces the winners of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry [Naina Helen Jama/TT Sweden Out/EPA-EFE]

Three scientists won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday for their work leading to the development of lithium-ion batteries, which have reshaped energy storage and transformed cars, mobile phones and many other devices – and reduced reliance on fossil fuels that contribute to global warming.

The prize went to John B. Goodenough, 97, a German-born engineering professor at the University of Texas; M. Stanley Whittingham, 77, a British-American chemistry professor at the State University of New York at Binghamton; and Japan’s Akira Yoshino, 71, of Asahi Kasei Corporation and Meijo University.

Goodenough is the oldest-ever recipient

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution