Three former Labour MPs – including Jeremy Corbyn ally Chris Williamson – have been banned from standing by the party’s National Executive Committee.

Mr Williamson, who represented Derby North, was suspended in an anti-Semitism row.

Stephen Hepburn, ex-MP for Jarrow, was being investigated over a sexual harassment claim, denied by him, while Roger Godsiff was facing a reselection battle in Birmingham Hall Green.

New candidates will be chosen instead.

It comes as Conservative Alun Cairns resigned from the cabinet over claims he knew about a former aide’s role in the “sabotage” of a rape trial.

Mr Cairns still intends to stand as a Tory candidate in the general election.

Labour’s Keith Vaz faces six-month suspension MP loses appeal over anti-Semitism suspension

Labour’s ruling National Executive Committee (NEC) has not

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution