The District of Columbia, which has a bigger population than two states and contributes more to federal tax coffers than many more, is due to receive significantly less money than any state in the emergency coronavirus relief bill moving through Congress.

The Senate approved the $2 trillion measure in a unanimous 96-0 vote late Wednesday. The House is expected to pass it without making changes on Friday, sending it to President to be signed into law.

The bill provides over 100 billion dollars to states and localities to reduce the economic damage caused by the pandemic. But it lumps the District ― which pays federal taxes ― in with U.S. territories like Puerto Rico and Guam, that do not. The

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution