TOPEKA — The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force has named 92 schools as recipients of the 2019 Challenge Awards.

Area schools receiving awards are: Lyons Central Elementary School and Lyons Middle School, Lyons, USD 405; and Macksville Elementary School, Macksville, USD 351. 

The awards recognize Kansas schools that are making a notable difference in student achievement despite facing significant challenges in their school population. Since its inception in 2002, more than 1,700 awards have been presented to schools across the state.

Certificates of Merit were presented to schools by Kansas State Board of Education members. 

The Challenge Award recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishments based on Kansas assessment results in math and reading, graduation rates, chronic absenteeism rates and the socio-economic

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution