A coalition of seven Midwestern governors today announced they are working together to judge when best to start easing stay-at-home restrictions and reopen their states’ economies.

The move mirrors similar efforts on the West Coast and in the Northeast Corridor.

As Crain’s has reported, Illinois Gov. J.B. Pritzker has been reaching out to his Midwest counterparts to coordinate efforts. Today, the coalition becomes official, with Michigan’s Gretchen Whitmer, Mike DeWine of Ohio, Wisconsin’s Tony Evers, Tim Walz of Minnesota, Eric Holcomb of Indiana and Kentucky’s Andy Beshear signing on to a multistate pact.

The governors said in a statement announcing the coalition: “We are doing everything we can to protect the people of our states and slow the spread of COVID-19, and we are

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution