Four Democratic senators have added their names as cosponsors to Senate legislation to make Washington, D.C., the 51st state in the wake of President ordering federal forces to crack down on a Black Lives Matter protest earlier this month. 

Trump deployed federal forces to occupy some of the city’s streets against the wishes of District of Columbia officials ― something he could do only because the district isn’t a recognized state. That effort turned violent on June 1, when federal law enforcement officers tear-gassed protesters to clear them out of a park next to the White House ahead of Trump’s photo-op visit to a nearby church. 

D.C. statehood proponents, furious about the federal government’s abuse of the city’s sovereignty, argued

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution