Americans will not be allowed to travel to EU countries when the bloc opens up to international visitors July 1. USA TODAY

For the second time this month, the European Union extended its travel ban on Americans on Thursday, as COVID-19 infections .

The EU first started , welcoming visitors from 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea and Australia. The U.S. was left off that initial list, and the visiting the bloc on July 16. 

The announcement, by the European Council, came after EU officials conducted their biweekly review of travel restrictions, examining and containment measures in each country to determine whether to add or narrow the list of permitted travelers. 

The key measurement: The pandemic

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution