NASHVILLE, Tenn. (RNS) —  Four churches were disfellowshipped by the Southern Baptist Convention’s Executive Committee on Tuesday (Feb. 23).

The denomination’s credentials committee determined that four congregations are “no longer in friendly cooperation” with the denomination. Those churches are Towne View Baptist Church in Kennesaw, Georgia; St. Matthews Baptist Church in Louisville, Kentucky; Antioch Baptist Church in Sevierville, Tennessee; and West Side Baptist Church in Sharpsville, Pennsylvania.

Meeting in executive session, the Executive Committee voted to remove all four churches.

Towne View and St. Matthews were removed for “affirming homosexual behavior” in their standards for members and leaders.

RELATED: Georgia SBC church faces banishment for accepting LGBTQ members

Antioch Baptist Church “knowingly employs as pastor a man convicted of statutory rape,” according to the credentials

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution