SharecloseShare pageCopy linkAbout sharing

image copyrightPA Media/Liam McBurney

The vote to elect the next leader of the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) will take place on Friday.

Northern Ireland’s Agriculture Minister Edwin Poots and Lagan Valley MP Sir Jeffrey Donaldson are bidding to succeed Arlene Foster.

She steps down as DUP leader on 28 May and NI first minister at the end of June.

It is the first time in the party’s 50-year history that a leadership contest has taken place.

Only three people have ever occupied the role of party leader in the DUP’s history: founder Ian Paisley, Peter Robinson

Read More At Article Source | Article Attribution