Seven Candidates Submitted Petitions for Board of Education Positions – Parsippany Focus

by | Jul 25, 2022 | Education

Frank A. Calabria Education Center
PARSIPPANY — Seven candidates have filed to run for three available seats on the Parsippany-Troy Hills School District’s Board of Education, according to the Morris County Clerk’s Office.
The following individuals have submitted their nominating petition to the Morris County Clerk:

Kendra Von Achen – Returning Member (term expires 12/31/2022)
Andrew Choffo – Returning Member (term expires 12/31/2022)
Alison C. Cogan – Returning Member (term expires 12/31/2022)
Michelle Shappell
Jack S. Raia
Yvonne Ferise
Falgun Bakhtarwala

The election for each seat will be held on November 8, 2022. Each seat will be held for three years.
The Board of Education is made up of nine members who are elected by registered voters of Parsippany-Troy Hills Township.
Members are elected to three-year terms. The Board President and Vice-President are elected by the majority vote of their fellow Board members.
The Board of Education members consist of:
Mr. Timothy Berrios (2023) PresidentMrs. Judy Mayer (2024) Vice PresidentMrs. Sheethal Abraham(2024)Mr. Andrew Choffo (2022)Mrs. Alison Cogan (2022)Mr. Matthew DeVitto (2023)Mrs. Susy Golderer (2024)Mrs. Deborah Orme (2023)Mrs. Kendra Von Achen (2022)
Requirements for candidates running for the Parsippany-Troy Hills Board of Education candidates are:
To Become a member of a local board of education in New Jersey, you must:

Be able to read and write
Hold citizenship and one year’s residency in the school district
Have no interest in any contract with, or claim against, the board
Not hold office as mayor or member of the municipal governing body
Be registered to vote in the district and not be disqualified as a voter under N.J.S.A. 19:4-1

Board members must undergo criminal history record checks through the New Jersey Department of Education within 30 days of election or appointment.
Serving on a School Board (From NJSBA)As one member of the school board team, you will be expecte …

Article Attribution | Read More at Article Source

Share This