Russia sanctions 25 more Americans, including Sean Penn and Ben Stiller

by | Sep 5, 2022 | Top Stories

Enlarge this image

In this photo provided by the Ukrainian Presidential Press Office, UNHCR Goodwill Ambassador Ben Stiller talks with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy during their meeting in Kyiv, Ukraine, June 20, 2022.

Ukrainian Presidential Press Office/AP

hide caption

toggle caption

Ukrainian Presidential Press Office/AP

Russia imposed personal sanctions Monday on 25 Americans, including actors Sean Penn and Ben Stiller, in response to U.S. sanctions against Russians stemming from the conflict in Ukraine. U.S. Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo was on the new sanctions list, as were several American senators: Mark Kelly and Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona, Kevin Cramer of North Dakota, Mike Rounds of South Dakota, Rick Scott of Florida, and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania. Russia’s Foreign Ministry said the group, which also included business leaders, academics and government officials, would be banned permanently from entering Russia. Previous rounds of Russian sanctions against Americans have included President Joe Biden and members of his family, as well as lawmakers and business leaders. The U.S. has sanctioned numerous Russians, including government officials and business people. Penn and Stiller have been outspoken critics of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Penn is an activist involved in relief work, among other causes. Stiller is a goodwill ambassador for the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees.

Article Attribution | Read More at Article Source

Share This