Which countries will King Charles III reign over?

by | Sep 12, 2022 | World

Accession of King Charles III has led to renewed calls in Caribbean nations to remove the monarch as their head of state.The death of Queen Elizabeth II has sparked an outpouring of condolences from around the world, but in some former colonies, questions are being raised about the monarchy’s future.
The accession of King Charles III to the British throne has renewed calls from politicians and activists in the Caribbean to remove him as their head of state.
We take a look at the debate taking place around the Commonwealth.
What are the Commonwealth and the realm?

The Commonwealth is a political association of 56 countries, mostly former British colonies.

The voluntary association covers 2.5 billion people across the globe. Togo and Gabon became the latest members this year, despite never having been under British rule.

Of those 56 countries, 14 are part of the commonwealth realm; those countries still keep King Charles as their monarch.

In addition to the UK, those countries include Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The other countries became independent after Queen Elizabeth II took the throne in 1952, and many have since thrown off the monarchy, but she saw the Commonwealth as a way to keep the diverse nations together.

At a summit in 2018, Commonwealth leaders confirmed that Charles would follow her as head of the organisation when she died.

However, calls for change are growing amid the Commonwealth realm, and some countries have expressed interest in becoming a republic.

Which countries are considering a change?

Antigua and Barbuda, Jamica, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Shortly after Charles was confi …

Article Attribution | Read More at Article Source

Share This